Central Asia is a catch-all term for the group of “Stans” countries that were formerly part of the Soviet Union: Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan. They have a combined land area nearly six times the size of Texas and a population four times the size of New York state, but this vast region has brought very few immigrants to the United States until recently. .

To read the rest of the article Click here